California Naturopathic Continuing Education
60 Hours every 2 years.
At least 20 hours in pharamcotherapeutics
No more than 20 hours in any single topic
No more than 15 hrs in naturopathic childbirth
Online Courses & Distance Learning Allowed
15 Hours may be completed online.
CE courses must be completed during the license period preceding the expiration date of the license. Approved courses taken after the license expiration date will be accepted only if they are required to meet the minimum bi-annual hourly requirement of 60 hours in the preceding license period.
CE courses in excess of 60 hours in one license period cannot be held over and used in the following license period.
California Naturopathic CEU Course Package
California Naturopathic CEU Package - 15 Continuing Education Credit hours
Best Deal – Originally $23 per credit,
Now $19.99 per credit! – You save $45.15
Click Learn More below to view courses included in your package.
More Information on California Naturopathic Continuing Education
To serve the public and licensed naturopathic doctors through the promotion and enforcement of laws and regulations which protect the health and safety of Californians, thus ensuring access to high quality naturopathic medical care.
In order to be licensed as a naturopathic doctor in California, Naturopathic Doctors must graduate from a school accredited by the Council of Naturopathic Medical Education that offers a graduate degree of Doctor of Naturopathy or Doctor of Naturopathic Medicine. The education requirements consist of at least 4,100 hours of training, of which not less than 2,500 hours are academic training and not less than 1,200 hours are supervised clinical training. ND license candidates must also pass a licensing exam that is administered by the North American Board of Naturopathic Examiners.
Continuing education hours are not required for the first renewal. However, thereafter, you are required to certify that you have completed 60 hours of approved continuing education hours in the preceding license period.
Continuing education requirements
- Minimum 60 hours required to be taken during the two-year license period.
- At least 20 hours in pharmacotherapeutics.
- No more than 15 hours may be in naturopathic medical journals or osteopathic or allopathic medical journals, or audio or videotaped presentations, slides, programmed instruction, or computer-assisted instruction or preceptorships.
- No more than 20 hours may be in any single topic.
- No more than 15 hours of the continuing education requirements for the specialty certificate in naturopathic childbirth attendance shall apply to the 60 hours of continuing education requirement.
- Webinars are considered “live”, recorded webinars are considered “self-study”. *
The continuing education may ONLY be approved by: The California Naturopathic Doctors Association (CNDA)
The American Association of Naturopathic Physicians (AANP)
The California State Board of Pharmacy (BOP)
The State Board of Chiropractic Examiners (BCE)
Courses approved for continuing education for physicians and surgeons (MD/DO)
Other courses approved by the Committee (NMC)
There is a fee of $812 for license renewal.
Notice: All California-licensed health care practitioners, including Naturopathic Doctors, who are authorized to prescribe Schedule II-IV controlled substance, and all pharmacists with an active license must be registered to use CURES before July 1, 2016. You must register for CURES access if you meet these criteria, even if you do not actively prescribe or dispense.
For more information regarding licensure and renewal please contact the California Naturopathic Board.